Forum

You must login or register to post a reply

RSS topic feed

Posts [ 15 ]

1  - 9 September 2013 16:56

I'm an A-level product design student and new XC. For my final project I am designing a stand for water bottles that can be placed in a feed zone if you don't have someone to stand and hand you bottles.

Having raced the Southern XC series this year I was inspired the brilliant home made creations I saw and wanted to know what riders want from such a product - for example, how many bottles it should hold, how to hold them, ways to make yours identifiable, cost or anything else you would want your stand to do. Any comments and ideas are very much appreciated.

I'm aware that ESI grips have made one in the past (http://www.esigrips.com/HandOff.htm) but have not found any other commercially available system in the UK.

Many thanks,

Kim Clark

2  - 9 September 2013 18:42

Hi Kim,
I race Midland XC in Vets. I have used a Camelback for 20 years up until this year. I use a square stake and have screwed 2 Bottle cages onto it which works quite well. Plastic would be good, possibly coloured so I could see mine standing out, it could even have a number board on but lower down as not to obstruct a quick change.
Hope this helps.
Carl

3  - 9 September 2013 18:52

Thanks Carl, that's exactly the sort of thing I'm looking for!

Kim

4  - 9 September 2013 20:09

I've been lucky enough to have the support of my wife when I've raced XC and I'm not sure she'd like to replicated. But here's what we've seen in the Vet/Masters feed zone when all the Youngsters have gone home.

Garden fork with various receptacles to keep bottles in,
cut down, 4pt milk bottles
old fashioned milk crates

Up turned buckets
Picnic table.

Reckon you'd need space for 3 or 4 bottles.

Must be very robust. it's going to get treated quite rough.
Easy to "stake out."

5  - 10 September 2013 12:41