Rampage 2014 Night Race Report

Share on Facebook  Share on Twitter


Published: 26th October, 2014

What a night! Great weather and a great turn out for our second night race. Over 80 senior racers stormed round the haunted woods of Checkendon last night to fight out the Series positions for 2014. The 40 Under 13 racers had probably scared the ghostly nuns away in the dusk races. Gareth Jones from Sports Alive has captured some amazing images worthy of any Cateye advert.

Fastest lap was 14:13 with the median time of 17:06 some 1:28 slower than Round 3.

Simon Ernest and Phil Pearce lead the race out and despite being in separate categories battled in a sprint in the tent to entertain the crowds. Simon wrapped up the Elite Series and Phil took the Expert series with three wins.

Rob Jackson showed his experience of night racing to take the Grand Vet race and Series win from Clive Evans and Andy Cracknell. Paul Miller did enough with third on the night to take the Masters Series from Marco Jardim and last year's winner Paul Brennan. Simon Allard won the Masters race comfortably by 1 minute just keeping up with Matt Taylor (second Expert).

Morgan Jones managed second on the night to take the Sport Series win from Liam Keynes who gets the Tough Guy award for running nearly two laps to make sure he got a finish in every round. Sam Edwards from WDMBC showed up to take the win on the night. Joseph Reid was officially third in the Series despite a mix up on the night with the podium.

The Dame Cycling duo, Marcia Ellis and Alicia Hockin have been trading places all series, but tonight Marcia rode away for the big win to take the Sport Female race and Series.

Samantha Jones took the Vet Female race and Series from a very hungover Kelli Salone.

The Vet Male Race and Series was sewn up by Jason Emery, with Roger Fowkes taking second on the night to secure third in the series. Malcolm Toop-Rose took third on the night.

Albert Baker took the Junior race and the Series title. Martin Blackman won the Youth race and Series. Ross Deal took the Juvenile Series win with second to Callum McLeod on the night.

There was a fantastic turn out for the Under 13 races and it was great to see everyone running round the arena in the dark with lights and torches! Nathan George scored the Under 13 win with a lap time that would have put him 13th in the Sport Race! Freddie Horner was only 7 seconds behind and this will be a battle to watch next year. Ben Donald, Eddie Bayfield and Thomas Cracknell made the podium for the Under 9 race and Series, while Orla Barrowcliffe took the Under 9 Series with second behind Jessice Lea on the night. George Fowkes triumphed over arch rival Nathan Cracknell to take the Under 11 win and Series, while Anna Wilson won the Under 11 Female race.

PedalOn stormed through the 1000 points barrier to take the Team competition from last year's winners Banjo Cycles, mainly thanks to the Cracknell clan. WDMBC took third with strong showings in all rounds except the night race.

So that's it for another year. It's been a great season this year with numbers up 30% over the four races. The new sections have kept the course fresh and median lap times have increased by 1 minute. The racing has been great to watch and the photographers have done a great job of capturing the speed of the racers. We are really pleased the night race has taken off and we think we've got it sussed now for future races. Already looking forward to next year!

Full results here
Series Standings here
Team results here

All pictures by Sports-Alive. Race photos posted here

Click any of the images below for a larger view / slideshow

More on the Banjo Cycles Rampage Series 2014 Rd 4 (Nightrace):
Event Calendar Listing

Blogger Info:



Organisers of the Southern XC Series and Rampage Series.


Read More By SMBC

This blog post was written by a third party and their views do not necessarily reflect the views of XCRacer.com

Advertise your business/event here »